UNCG Dept of Media Studies News

The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Siera Schubach awarded John Lee Jellicorse Scholarship

SieraSchubach

MST senior, Siera Schubach is this year’s winner of the John Lee Jellicorse Scholarship. Siera’s interests include representation of women and Native Americans in media:

“For nearly all my life I have been in love with film. As a film enthusiast, writer and filmmaker, my goal is to improve the representation of women in media. I would like to have my own production company that supports women in all areas of the film industry and works to create images of women on film that are both realistic and empowering. I would also like to improve the depiction of Native Americans on screen by creating youth-focused programs that would support and encourage positive self-image and representation through film. Film is a powerful medium to create change, and that’s what I plan to do.”

Congratulations, Siera!

Written by uncgmst

November 4, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Posted in News & Events

